Trusted local news leader for Williams AZ and the Grand Canyon
Fri, Sept. 18

Final count: McNelly and Wurgler retain council seats

WILLIAMS - The unofficial final results have been posted by Coconino County for the primary election held Aug. 30 with two incumbents retaining their city council seats and one seat to be decided in the general election Nov. 8.

Voters in the Williams City Council Primary Election, selected Frank McNelly and Jim Wurgler for two city council seats. Newcomers Dawn Trapp and George Otero will compete for the final seat during the general election. Mayor John Moore ran unopposed and was reelected as mayor of Williams.

Coconino County Recorder's Office reported although the results are unofficial they are considered final and will not change.

With three seats up for election this fall on the Williams City Council as well as the mayor's seat, seven people declared their candidacy.

Mayor John Moore, Councilmen McNelly, Wurgler, and Craig Fritsinger, and newcomers Trapp, Jim Karlsberger and Otero were all on the primary election ballot.

Moore ran uncontested and with 420 votes cast received 380 votes or 90 percent of votes. There were 40 write-in votes.

1395 votes were received for city council seats. McNelly received 303 or 22 percent of the votes, Wurgler received 283 or 20 percent votes, George Otero received 214 or 15 percent of the votes, Dawn Trapp received 210 votes or 15 percent of the votes, Craig Fritsinger received 202 votes or 14 percent of the votes and Jim Karlsberger received 181 votes or 13 percent of the votes.

Any candidate in the primary election who received a majority of the votes, was elected to the council and did not need to compete in the Nov. 8 general election. McNelly and Wurgler received majority votes. The majority of vote is calculated by dividing the total number of votes cast by the number of vacant seats and dividing by two. Thus of the 1395 votes, 234 votes were the majority (50 percent plus one).

No other candidates reached the majority votes so the next two candidates with the most votes, Otero and Trapp, will challenge each other in the general election.

More information can be found at

Report a Typo Contact
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event