Trusted local news leader for Williams AZ and the Grand Canyon
Tue, May 11

Havasupai elect Tribal Council

The Havasupai Tribe conducted their elections for executive officers and the Tribal Council on Dec. 24 in the village of Supai.

Don Watahomigie was selected as Chairman and Matthew Putesoy is Vice Chair. Council representatives are Agnes Chamberlain, Eva Kissoon, Rex Tilousi and Dianna Sue Uqualla.

The term of these seats was one year until the tribe amended their constitution (three years ago) making them two-year terms.

Watahomigie won with 124 votes, against Carletta Tilousi who received 94 votes.

Putesoy received 143 votes to challenger Bernadine Jones' 71.

For council, Kissoon received 151 votes, Chamberlain received 93, Tilousi received 91 and Uqualla received 90.

Donate Report a Typo Contact